North Jersey Cop

Rants and Raves

Life as a small town cop

Community Service! In a department of about 30, in a suburban community, we don’t get the big city happenings.  EMS calls, burglar alarms, lost dogs, lockouts, not really the high priority stuff.  Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy doing what I do, but I know that when the sh*t hits the fan, the city cop, who encounters it on a daily basis will be ready for it.  I’ve had two occasions in my 7 years as an officer where I’ve had an armed encounter, I am lucky enough that I’m here writing this.  (First guy jumped out a second story window, the second had barricaded himself and then took his own life.)  

Back to being a small town cop, I would have to say that aside from the politics, everyone knowing everyone and courtesy cards, the joys of police work for me is getting to deal with the community.  Hopping in my patrol car and getting out there into my 2.75 square mile town.  Being known by name, not just by a badge number.  Had I started in a big city, I’ld most likely have a different view point.  Of course the grass may always be greener on the other side of the fence, But I like to think that it’s blue on both sides.

Stay safe out there!   

No comments yet»

Leave a comment